30 days, 30 illustrations.

Studio photo 2017 HOLLY SHARPE

^ Photo from my studio space in Glasgow ^

“It’s only after you’ve stepped outside your comfort zone that you begin to change, grow, and transform.”  – Roy T. Bennett

Today, I want to introduce a project I have set myself that I will begin tomorrow. The clue is in the title: 30 days, 30 illustrations.

Something of a 30 day diary, but more in illustrations with a side dish of words. My plan is to draw things from my life, from my day, which will sometimes be mundane, or superficial things that I have done, bought, used or eaten. But I also hope to include some illustrations that will be more serious in tone and hopefully express something I feel strongly about, or address an important issue or something I have been thinking about, and try to capture that in an illustration. Needless to say, there will be a varied range of different illustrations over the 30 days!

I have many reasons for setting myself this challenge, some of which are:

  • I work well with deadlines. When something needs to be done, I get it done. I am pretty self disciplined most of the time – you have to be when you are self employed. But, there are lulls, and deadlines help. Restricted time helps – to an extent. And I go off on tangents, A LOT, I always have so many ideas and I want to follow them all, but I do manage to recognise this sometimes and reign it in to train myself to finish the thing I am working on before I move on to the next… it doesn’t always work that way and sometimes the creativity gets the better of me and takes the lead. But I hope with this it will mean I have no choice but to stick to it. As someone wise once said, “You can do anything, but you can’t do everything”.
  • To improve my drawing skills by trying things I don’t usually draw and things that are out of my comfort zone. I think it is important to always be trying to improve you skills and challenge yourself.
  • Develop my gratitude for things that may sometimes go unnoticed. By reflecting on my day, and thinking about what to draw will force me to slow down, stop and think about what has happened. What are the little (or big) things that I have been doing, been given or tried etc. I think this will help me to be even more grateful and notice these things more than I already do.
  • Expand my portfolio – I already feel that sometimes I struggle with trying to fit myself into the title of either ‘artist’ or ‘illustrator’ and by doing this I want to utilise and demonstrate more of my ‘illustrating’ skills.
  • I hope it will allow people to get to know me better. It is hard to get your personality across sometimes through the internet, but I hope by giving more of an insight into my life that people who follow my work may be able to understand more of me!

So, stay tuned for a new illustration every day, for 30 days, starting tomorrow!

I will also be posting them in the news section of my website.

Thanks again for following my blog and for taking the time to read it. I’d love to hear from you in the comments below if you are thinking of setting yourself any challenges for any lengths on time?

Holly

x

website: http://www.hollysharpe.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hollysharpe_drawings/

“‎Hold yourself responsible for a higher standard than anybody else expects of you. Never excuse yourself. Never pity yourself. Be a hard master to yourself-and be lenient to everybody else.” – Henry Ward Beecher

24 thoughts on “30 days, 30 illustrations.

  1. Pingback: Day 1 of 30 days, 30 illustrations. | Daydreamer

  2. Pingback: Day 3 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  3. Pingback: Day 4 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  4. Pingback: Day 5 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  5. Pingback: Day 8 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  6. Pingback: Day 9 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  7. Pingback: Day 10 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  8. Pingback: Day 13 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  9. Pingback: Day 15 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  10. Pingback: Day 17 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  11. Pingback: Day 18 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  12. Pingback: Day 19 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  13. Pingback: Day 21 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  14. Pingback: Day 22 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  15. Pingback: Day 23 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  16. Pingback: Day 24 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  17. Pingback: Day 25 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  18. Pingback: Day 26 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  19. Pingback: Day 27 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  20. Pingback: Day 28 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  21. Pingback: Day 29 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

  22. Pingback: Day 30 of 30 days, 30 illustrations | Daydreamer

Leave a Reply

