Drawing Fashion II

McQueen photo 3

 ‘Roses de McQueen’
details here.

As you may have read in a previous post (here), in April I decided to focus on creating as many new fashion drawings/ sketches as I could, to tie in with the fashion illustration workshops which I was also doing in April. I thought this would be a good way to ensure that my skills were up to date in order to teach and encourage those coming to the workshops, but it also gave me a focus and a chance to experiment with new ways of working and play with new mediums. So that is exactly what I did! I felt like I was learning again, and was therefore able to keep things fresh, and from my point of view – exciting. So, I have now put the most successful results from my month of fashion drawings online here and you can see some of them below. I had time to make a couple of the sketches into larger scale illustrations, which I hope to do more of as I don’t feel finished with this yet, but wanted to get the ones that I had finished online to show you before things got too carried away.. Overall I learnt that my new favourite medium is quink ink! It is lovely to work with, but also a tricky one to master as every mark is irreversible… so the key is layers and layers of building up watery ink, oh so delicately and carefully… that being said, when it goes well, it is a very fluid way to work and you can work relatively quickly, so I like the immediacy of it. I used this way of working with the ‘ink shadow’ portraits which was a lovely way to experiment with bringing this sensitivity but being able to work quite quickly with the ink… I mainly focused on capturing the light and shadows, which I suppose I always do in a way, but I felt the quink ink really lent itself to this shadow-chasing approach… I also learnt, as I have many a time, that things always take longer than you think, and I was perhaps over- ambitious as to what I could achieve, and how much (good quality) work I could produce in the space of just over a month… not sure if I will ever learn in that respect!

Anyway, I hope you will like my latest series of fashion drawings, you can see them all here where they are also available to buy as originals and prints, and some of my personal favourites below.

Thanks for reading,

Holly

Ink Shadows III print 72 dpi HOLLY SHARPE

‘Ink Shadows III’  details here

INK Shadows IV 72 dpi

‘Ink Shadows IV’ 

Ink shadows V 72 dpi print HOLLY SHARPE

‘Ink Shadows V’

Drawing Fashion II 72 dpi - HOLLY SHARPE

‘Drawing Fashion II’

April print 72 dpi HOLLY SHARPE

‘April’
details here.

April II print 72 dpi HOLLY SHARPE

‘April II’

details here.

http://www.hollysharpe.com

twitter: @hollysharpe

2 thoughts on “Drawing Fashion II

  1. These are beautiful Holly! My favourites are ink shadows IV and drawing fashion V. Do you still live in London or did you move back to Edinburgh? X

    • Thanks so much! Glad you like them!
      Neither … I actually moved to Glasgow a couple years ago (it has gone so fast!)… My family are still in Edinburgh, so I’m back there a lot… and still visit friends in London as much as I can! x

Leave a Reply

