Sometimes // why I draw.

Bacon

I will keep pouring my heart and soul into my work, because sometimes it is the only thing I know how to do.

Sometimes it is the only place I want to go.

Sometimes it is the only thing that makes me feel like there might be meaning in all of this.

Sometimes it is the only way to make me forget the things I don’t want to remember.

Sometimes it is the only way to zone out of all the small things, and the big things, that occasionally make me despair.

Sometimes it is the only way I feel connected with every other soul out there trying to create beautiful art, words, music, and all things creative.

Sometimes it is the only way I can express myself, and hide away rather than revealing how I actually feel, for all the things I will never be able to say out loud. For all the things I don’t even know how to say in words. And for all the things I wish I had said, and now it is too late.

Sometimes I feel like I don’t understand myself, and certainly no body else does, but maybe they will, maybe some people really do ‘get’ my work, and therefore they ‘get’ me… maybe.

Sometimes I feel so inspired or anxious, or both, and drawing is often the most effective way to use all of this energy.

Because sometimes it is the only thing that makes any sense to me.

I will keep on creating till, well, always. For every piece of music I hear that speaks to me on such a high level, I will keep trying to reach that point with my work, if there is a way to put what I feel and hear in music into something visual, I will keep trying. I will keep on trying to pour out whatever it is I often feel such a strong urge to expel from inside of me. I will keep on trying to create a connection that I hope others will see, feel, and believe. I want to create something that helps you, that takes you to that place, the place where I feel safe, where I don’t need to question everything, the place where nothing really matters, but everything does, the place where I will never reach, but will never stop trying to.

– Holly Sharpe.

http://www.hollysharpe.com

quote

3 thoughts on “Sometimes // why I draw.

  1. Beautiful words. I too use my creativity to forge a path of meaning and make sense of things. And because I feel I have no choice because my work is calling me xx

    • Thanks so much for reading and commenting Rebecca! So nice to hear you feel the same in some way 🙂 The life of a creative is a rocky one sometimes, but I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂 xx

  2. Pingback: Breathe. | Daydreamer

Leave a Reply

