Wild Heart: Upcoming exhibition.

Wild heart promo 72 DPI

 

Just a quick post to let you know about my next exhibition which starts this Saturday, 18th October and runs until Nov 8th. It will take place at The Art Room within the Old School in Dumfries, Scotland. I will be there for the opening from 12-2pm this Saturday for anyone that happens to be in the area, would love to meet you all!

A brief insight into the exhibition:

Wild Heart

‘Wild Heart’, Holly’s second solo exhibition brings together some older work as well as brand new pieces. There will of course be the signature bright colours and exuberant illustrations which are perhaps more upfront in their appeal to provoke a strong sense of engagement with the viewer. Complementing these are her delicate pencil drawings which, are more subtle in their approach, yet still evoke a sensitivity, with powerful, and sometimes slightly chaotic lines which attempt to touch on the depth of emotions felt in any human heart. Alongside these her most recent work seeks to explore the delicate and invaluable relationship we have with nature. These ethereal images convey a form of escapism, a dreamlike place where girls float amidst meadows of flowers, surrounded by enchanting birds.

“If I were to take a step back and look at this work I have created, the best summary I can conclude is that I am trying to suggest no matter what your situation or your struggles, everyone feels things so strongly and is so very fragile. And that perhaps we should all find comfort in this knowledge. People have developed an array of techniques to escape from these all encompassing and complicated emotions, and perhaps this is mine. Either way, I think the best thing we can do is embrace these feelings whether good or bad. And realise that everyone struggles. So in a way I hope that my work either encourages you to express yourself, which I believe is usually a healthy thing, or perhaps it reminds you that the best tool we have is already around us and entirely free – nature, whether in humans, birds, in the colours we see in flowers or through the calming expanse of a sea view. I would like to end on that positive note, do not be afraid to express yourself, and do not forget to breathe in the fresh air and beauty all around you.”

– Holly Sharpe

And from the press:

“The Art Room within the Old School is delighted to be welcoming acclaimed artist Holly Sharpe to Dumfries with her solo exhibition, ‘Wild Heart’, from Saturday, October 18th to November 8.

Scouted by Marks & Spencer for its Spring/Summer 2014 Limited make-up collection packaging, Holly has reached international artist status. Her eye-catching and thought-provoking work is enjoyed globally thanks to her inspired use of social media, which has resulted in worldwide sales of her designs.
As one of The Art Room’s most popular artists, Holly is delighted to be visiting The Old School this Saturday [October 18] from 12– 2pm for the opening event.
This is a fantastic opportunity to meet the artist as well as partake in her fashion illustration workshops.
Contact Rachel@the-art-room.co.uk for any further information.”

I know Scotland is far away for a lot of you, so I’m sorry you won’t be there. But I will try my best to have exhibitions around the world in the future 🙂

I will be posting my most recent work, which will be at the exhibition, on my facebook, twitter, Instagram etc and also in my online shop soooon, so follow me on there if you want to see them first!

Thanks for reading,
Holly
x

Leave a Reply

